2001 Prometheus Award finalists, Best [Libertarian Science Fiction] Novel

From: Matthew Gaylor (freematt@coil.com)
Date: Fri Apr 13 2001 - 17:16:50 MDT

[Note from Matthew Gaylor: I'll be a panelist at LFScon, the
Society's first national conference and 20th anniversary celebration.
I'll be speaking on The Internet and Freedom. See the message below
for details. I've had the pleasure to be a judge for a number of
years now and I especially enjoyed this year's selection of "Truth"
which deals with the freedom of the press set in a fantasy universe.]

For immediate release

Libertarian Futurist Society announces Prometheus Award finalists for
Best Novel

The Libertarian Futurist Society has selected five novels as finalists for
its annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel.

The LFS's Best Novel Finalist judging committee has chosen five novels
published in 2000 for the 2001 award:

* Lodestar, by Michael Flynn (TOR Books)
* The Sky Road, by Ken MacLeod (TOR Books)
* The Truth, by Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins)
* Forge of the Elders, by L. Neil Smith (Baen Books)
* Eagle Against the Stars, by Steve White (Baen Books)

     This is the first time that Pratchett and White have been honored as
Prometheus Award finalists. Three of the five finalist authors are previous
Prometheus Award winners: MacLeod won most recently in 1998 for ’"The Stone
Canal", and in 1996 for ’"The Star Fraction.". Smith won in 1994 for
"Pallas" and in 1982 for ’"The Probability Broach".’ Flynn won in 1991 for
"In the Country of the Blind"’ and in 1992 for ’"Fallen Angels"’
(co-authored by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle);

     Twelve novels were nominated by LFS members for this year’ awards. The
other nominees were Candle, by John Barnes (TOR Books); The Legend That Was
Earth, by James Hogan (Baen Books); Outlaw School, by Rebecca Ore
(HarperCollins/EOS); "Chimera", by Will Shetterly (TOR Books);
"Vampire Nation",
by Thomas Sipos (www.communistvampires.com); "Conspiracies", by F. Paul Wilson
(Forge Books); and "All the Rage", by F. Paul Wilson (FORGE Books)

    The winner will be announced over the Labor Day weekend in Philadelphia in
an awards ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention. This year’ Best
Novel winner will receive a plaque and a one-ounce gold coin, double the size
of previous years.

    Meanwhile, the Society will present its annual Prometheus Hall of Fame
award for Best Classic Fiction at LFScon, the Society's first national
conference and 20th anniversary celebration. LFScon will be an honored
centerpiece May 25-27 of Marcon 36, Ohio’ oldest and largest science fiction
and fantasy convention, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel and Columbus Convention
Center in Columbus, Ohio. Basic LFScon registrations cost $90/person until
May 14, 2001. For more information about the eight Prometheus Award-winning
guests of honor, Hyatt hotel discount and LFScon panel/event schedule, visit
the LFS website (http://www.lfs.org) or call 614-236-5040.

     A separate Hall of Fame finalist judging committee recently chose five
finalists for the 2001 Hall of Fame award: Poul Anderson’ "Orion Shall Rise";
Sinclair Lewis’"It Can't Happen Here"; "The Survival of Freedom",
edited by Jerry
Pournelle & John Carr; L. Neil Smith’"The Wardove"; or Melinda Snodgrass’
"The Measure of a Man" (Star Trek: Next Generation episode).

    The Prometheus Awards for Best Novel and Best Classic Fiction (Hall of
Fame) honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the
possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal
and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals
and coercive governments, or reveals the tragic and harmful consequences of
abuse of power-- especially by the State.

    The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS),
was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the
Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in
sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention,
the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners. Last
year’ Prometheus Award winner for Best Book was Vernor Vinge’ "Deepness
in the Sky’" (TOR Books).

    The Hall of Fame, established in 1983, focuses on older classic fiction,
including novels, novellas, short stories, poems and plays.Past Hall of Fame
awardwinners range from Robert Heinlein and Ayn Rand to Ray Bradbury and
Ursula LeGuin. Last year's winner was Hans Christian Anderson for "The
Emperor's New Clothes.''

Publishers or readers who wish to submit 2001 novels for consideration and
possible nomination should contact Michael Grossberg (mikegrossb@aol.com,
3164 Plymouth Place, Columbus OH 43213), Chair of the LFS Prometheus Awards
Best Novel Finalist judging committee.

Subscribe to Freematt's Alerts: Pro-Individual Rights Issues
Send a blank message to: freematt@coil.com with the words subscribe FA
on the subject line. List is private and moderated (7-30 messages per week)
Matthew Gaylor, 2175 Bayfield Drive, Columbus, OH 43229
(614) 313-5722 ICQ: 106212065 Archived at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/fa/

This archive was generated by hypermail 2b30 : Mon May 28 2001 - 09:59:46 MDT